Home > Uncategorized > Two MDs sharing a Contentious Practice = Existance

Two MDs sharing a Contentious Practice = Existance

Before getting into politics and matters of individual liberty, let’s start with the fundamentals of reality that underpin people’s political outlook the same way quantum spin underpins one’s eating of a cheeseburger. The element I have in mind right now is the ubiquity of paradox. This is a subject that definitely bears on the complimentary-opposite-outlooks manifesting as political left and right. I’ll come back to that in future posts, but for the moment, I think it best examined in its purest form: mathematics.

Wait… where at you going…? Don’t click away – this’ll be interesting, you’ll see…

Now, I never was a “math person”, myself.  I always resented being forced to learn anything  I saw as basically inapplicable in my real life – doubly so concerning math, since not even the teachers could give me a compelling case for it’s relevance.

That persisted until, in my mid twenties I underwent a period of  mental, physical, and emotional rebirth – a metamorphosis that has infused every aspect of my life since. One of the epiphanies I received during that time, was to recognize the glory of math as a window into the very operating language of existence. When you look deeply at this language, you can see paradox permeating all levels – and to my mind, nothing exemplifies this more beautifully than that most mysterious of mundane figures, the circle.

The circle is a finite construct. You can take it in at a glance. Yet Pi, the mathematical soul of this shape, goes on forEVER and NEVER repeats EVER. Let your mind suck on that for a moment and savor the sweet, juicy futility of trying to grasp ∞.  It is truly an everlasting gobstopper of gorgeous incomprehensibility. Just consider the implications – you could calculate Pi to a number of digits that surpassed the number of quantum particles in the known universe and just keep right on going.  So we have the infinite underlying and birthing the finite – the finite concealing and structured upon the infinite.  The same is true of the infinity between one and two, and infinite array of other numbers. Infinite infinities infusing and comprising every square inch of the fabric of existence, while a cubic inch yet remains a sharply defined limited volume.  If that’s not the mother of all paradoxes, I don’t know what is. And in the case of Pi, it’s one the Greeks couldn’t handle – it gummed up their tidy materialist world view, so they refused to deal with it*. And, as I’ll discuss in future posts, that abdication is one of the main factors gumming things up for us as their intellectual heirs – especially in the realm of politics…

and so we come…

full…

wait for it…

waaaaaaaiiiiiiit for it…

circle.

*Radical** oversimplification duly noted. Definitely true of the Pythagorean though.

** Mathematical pun intended***

*** I’m usually not geeky, but puns + math, I confess, make for a major exception.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

